Cover of "In the Age of the Bombers"

Luftens tyranner. Menn og bombefly gjennom 100 år
Published by Spartacus Forlag, 2019

Deadly planes as big as football pitches with bomb loads of up to 50 tonnes have thundered over cities and countries since 1914. The scenario is both historical and contemporary.
The arrival of bomber technology, with its ability to penetrate front lines and spread destruction among civilian populations, changed the nature of warfare forever. Its supporters claimed mass bombing would yield rapid victories by demoralising enemy populations. The idea persists: if only bombers become powerful, fast and precise enough, wars will be won swiftly and bloodlessly.


The Bird Boy and Blue Bats where nominated to the Brage Prize 2019

Rune Belsvik’s The Bird Boy and Harald Nordtun’s Blue Bats were nominated to the Brage Pize 2019 for the year’s best children and young adult book.

Below are the jury’s groundings for their nominations of the two books:

“The Bird Boy is an absorbing, sensitive tale of a child’s attempts to control their emotions and of searching for fellowship. […] Through investigations into his day-to-day, Lukas gradually understands that he isn’t the only one finding it difficult to get a handle on his thoughts. It provides him with strength as he reconciles with his unsafe living conditions in this bleak and believable depiction of childhood.”

Blue bats is sparse and eloquent, swooping down into themes such as poverty, fairness, dyslexia and various types of isolation. […] Sander has a sophisticated ability to rise up against different external pressures, and this runs all the way through the book. Despite its somewhat serious backdrop, this is both a warm and humorous novel. This thrilling, yet at the same time believable depiction of how isolating a childhood summer holiday can be, has a lot to say.”


Cover of "Jens Munk. The Hunt for the Northwest Passage"

Jens Munk. Jakten på Nordvestpassasjen
Published by Humanist Forlag, 2019

What could convince a human being to embark on a long sea journey to an unknown place without a definite map, with neither sufficient funds nor medicine, with navigational equipment that is more than 400 years old?

Jens Munk (1579 – 1628), the son of disgraced gentry, was a captain and a discoverer. He grew up in Agder, Fredrikstad and Ålborg, and had already undertook a solo journey to Brazil when he was only 13 years old. Later he moved to Copenhagen where he became a captain in King Christian VI’s fleet.


Rune Belsvik: THE BIRD BOY

Cover of "The Bird Boy"

Published by Samlaget, 2019

A heart-wrenching, but hope-filled tale about finding your place in the world
Lukas thinks that Mummy loves his older sister Alma more than him. And when Lukas doesn’t behave himself, poor Daddy has to tell him off. Naughty little Lukas. Something is always wrong with Lukas.
His best friend Nico isn’t always very well-behaved either. Then one day Lukas meets a boy with a pet that’s one-of-a-kind. A black crow. What is it about this boy? And what would happen if Lukas got a bird as well? Could it change everything?


Marianne G. Engedal: THE SAUSAGE BURGLAR

Published by Samlaget, 2019

Exciting about an unwilling burglar

Bill is a nine year-old boy, born into a family of burglars. But Bill doesn’t want to be a burglar. One day he has to steal from his own friend, Sausage Sam. “But I don’t want to steal from Sausage Sam,” yells  Bill, “He’s my friend!” What does he get in response? “A real burglar has to be able to steal from anyone at all!”


Latest rights sale

  • Johan B. Mjønes/Åshild Irgens: THE LUKAS SERIES (four picture books 2016-2019), sold to Ukraine.
  •  Åsmund H. Eikenes: A SINGLE DROP. THE SPECTACULAR SCIENCE OF BODY FLUIDS (non-fiction, 2019), sold to USA (World English)
  •  Terje Tvedt: THE NILE. THE RIVER OF HISTORY (non-fiction, 2012/2020), sold to Germany and the Netherlands, previously to UK.
  •  Maria Parr: BIG BROTHER (easy read, 2019), sold to Belgium. Previously to Bulgaria.
  •  Dag Øyvind Engen Nilsen: THE PSYCOPATH-TEST (non-fiction, 2019), sold to USA.
  • Jan Roar Leikvoll: THE SONGBIRD (novel, 2013), sold to Sweden.
  •  Lars Mæhle/Lars Rudebjer: THE DINOSAUR BUNCH-series (picture books, 2019-2020), sold to Denmark, previously to China,  Estonia, Finland, Iceland.
  • Marianne G. Engedal: THE SAUSAGE BURGLAR (picture book, 2019), sold to Korea and Sweden.
  •  Dag Øyvind Engen Nilsen: THE PSYCOPATH-TEST (non-fiction, 2019), sold to USA (World English)
  • Øyvind Torp/Geir Ulstein: SELF-DEFENCE AGAINST CANCER (non-fiction, 2019), sold to Czech, previously to Denmark.Denmark, Japan, Taiwan, South Korea.